Updated: Delta assembly speaker, Monday Igbuya, impeached

Updated: Delta assembly speaker, Monday Igbuya, impeached

- Monday Igbuya, speaker of Delta state house of assembly has been impeached

- He was impeached on Thursday, May 11 following a notice signed by 22 members of the house

- After the impeachment, assembly staff went rejoicing at the assembly premises

Staff of the Delta state house of assembly on Thursday, were all joy, following the humiliation suffered by the speaker of the state house of assembly, Monday Igbuya.

Monday Igbuya was impeached on Thursday by 22 members of the house out of the 29 members.

Staff under the aegis of Parliamentarian Staff Association of Nigeria (PASAN) who had been on the neck of the speaker over alleged highhandedness and unwillingness to meet their needs were the most pleased as members sacked the speaker and replaced him with Sheriff Oborevwori representing Okpe state constituency.

The house, which was presided over by the Deputy speaker, Friday Osanebi, with both the clerk and sergeant-at-arm, also suspended Hon Tim Owhefere, representing Isoko North and majority leader of the house and elected Hon. Johnson Erijo, Isoko South 2 as the new majority leader.

Delta assembly speaker, Monday Igbuya, impeached

Delta assembly speaker, Monday Igbuya, impeached

The motion for the impeachment, NAIJ.com learnt, was moved by Johnson Erijo, representing Isoko south 1 in the house.

Erijo said the impeachment became necessary following the incompetence of the former speaker, highhandedness and his unacceptable leadership style, saying that for the house to move forward, a new speaker was needed as the state legislature was key to the growth of democracy and development of the state.

READ ALSO: Nigerian police officers fight dirty with pedestrians in Abuja

The motion was seconded by Peter Onwusanya, representing Oshimili south and was unanimously adopted, following which the Deputy speaker who presided called for nomination of the new speaker.

Hon Peter Onwusanya then nominated Hon Sheriff Oboriowori, Okpe constituency, seconded by Hon Daniel Mayuku, Warri south west, while Hon Efe Ofobruku, Uvwie, nominated Hon Eric Oharisi, Ughelli North 2, seconded by Hon Daniel Yingi, Burutu 1.

The second nominee, Hon Eric Oharisi then announced his stepping down for the first nominee, Sheriff Oborewori, whom he described as a brother and elder brother, commending the members that nominated him.

Delta assembly speaker, Monday Igbuya, impeached

Delta assembly speaker, Monday Igbuya, impeached

Hon Oborewori was immediately sworn in with relevant oaths of office and allegiance as speaker by the clerk of the house, Mrs. Lyna Ocholor.

In his acceptance speech, the new Speaker promised to adhere strictly to the rules of house, noting that as the first among equals he will accord every member his due respect.

Hon. Oboriowori said he would not allow the integrity of the house to be dragged in the mud and called for the support of the house.

He immediately announced the dissolution of all standing committees of the house which were constituted by the ousted speaker.

Peter Onwusanya then rose again for the suspension of Hon. Tim Owhefere as the Majority Leader and nominated Hon. Johnson Erijo as new Majority Leader.

READ ALSO: Revealed! Cabal wants Osinbajo to resign - Princess Hadiza Ibrahim

The house in the absence of any other item in the order paper adjourned to Tuesday, May 23, 2017.

The members then moved to government house to present the new Speaker and the new majority leader to the governor.

Outside the hallow chamber, there was jubilation by assembly workers and legislative aides of members as the speaker was judged to be highhanded and treated workers welfare with kids gloves.

He was elected speaker at the swearing in in June 2015. Igbuya represents Sapele state constituency in the house.

Watch this NAIJ.com video showing protesters calling for the sack of Andy Uba from the senate

Source: Naija.ng

Related news
SSANU, NASU, NAAT demand N30 billion from FG to end strike

SSANU, NASU, NAAT demand N30 billion from FG to end strike

SSANU, NASU, NAAT demand N30 billion from FG to end strike
Mailfire view pixel