Northern youths release 12 names of northerners to take over from Buhari in 2019

Northern youths release 12 names of northerners to take over from Buhari in 2019

- A group of northern youths have shortlisted names of politicians to take over from President Buhari in 2019

- The list has twelve names from all parts of northern Nigeria

- The group insisted that the North will retain power in 2019

A northern group known as the Northern Youth Leaders’ Forum (NYLF) has released a shortlist of 12 northern candidates they think should contest for 2019 presidency.

The group reiterated its earlier declaration that presidency should go be retain in the north comes 2019.

They claimed they were forced to release the list after hearing rumours of southern presidency in 2019.

Below are the shortlisted candidates according to the group leader, Comrade Elliot Afiyo:

1) Atiku Abubakar (Former vice president)

2) Bukola Saraki (Senate President)

3) Ibrahim Hassan Dankwambo (Governor of Gombe state)

4) Aminu Tambuwal (Governor of Sokoto)

5) Alhaji Sule Lamido (Former governor of Jigawa)

6) Nasir El-rufai (Governor of Kaduna state)

7) Senator Rabiu Musa Kwankwaso (former governor of Kano)

8) Senator Ali Modu Sheriff (Former governor of Borno)

9) Ibrahim Shettima (Governor of Borno state)

10 Abdul’aziz Abubakar Yari (Governor of Zamfara state)

11) Alhaji Tanimu Turaki

12) Senator Bala Muhammed

READ ALSO: Official date for end of Ramadan announced by NASRDA

Comrade Afiyo said: “We want to reiterate and clearly warn that the North will not, and will never allow presidency to move to the South in 2019.

“As much as we can tolerate or pay any sacrifice for the unity of this country, we remain committed to a northern president in 2019.”

According to a report by Daily Post, Afiyo said the group had forwarded the names of the endorsed persons to its patrons and the leadership of the 42 affiliated organisations to Northern Youth Leaders Forum (NYLF).

The group awaits screening and endorsement of only two candidates who will be considered during its 15th Annual National Convention coming up in September, 2017, in Kano.

He said: “We want to send a message to all political parties that may field southern presidential candidates in 2019 election that such action will amount to political death for the party."

It warned northern leaders to desist from supporting candidates from the South and insisted that such action would be counter-productive to their irreversible decision for a 2019 northern presidency.

The group further called on all northern youths to embrace dialogue and peace, and not to allow themselves to be swayed by those who use religion and ethnicity to divide the north and gain political advantage.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

Afiyo said NYLF was strongly instrumental to the emergence of “Olusegun Obasanjo, Musa Yar’adua and Goodluck Jonathan as well as current President Muhammadu Buhari as presidents in 2003, 2007, 2011 and 2015, respectively, without regional bias.”

The group said its actions were always guided by national interest far above any other interest.

On the quit notice to Igbo by some sections of the Northern youth group, Afiyo said the youths were angry members who felt they were used and abandoned by the All Progressives Congress (APC) politicians.

Afiyo said: “We consider the quit notice as ill advised, ill-timed and uncalled for.

“We strongly believe the groups of northern youths were motivated, encouraged and sponsored by some individuals who felt cheated by both the federal government and some state governments controlled by the APC.

“These individuals were used and dumped; no recognition or appreciation was extended to them.

“They are, therefore, bent on destabilizing the government."

Meanwhile, reported earlier that a coalition of three Igbo groups shortlisted 11 prominent Igbo politicians for president in 2019.

The Igbo groups, which shortlisted the personalities include; the World Igbo Youth Congress (WIYC) the Igbo Students’ Association (ISA) and the South-East Women Professionals (SWP).

The group shortlisted former first lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, Deputy Senate President Ike Ekweremadu and 9 other people from South-East and South-South Nigeria.

Watch video of Chief Olusegun Obasanjo explaining why Nigeria needs to be treated like love:


Related news
What I think about late Alex Ekwueme - Former military president Babangida

What I think about late Alex Ekwueme - Former military president Babangida

What I think about late Alex Ekwueme - Former military president Babangida
Mailfire view pixel