NAF establishes new branch and commands, redeploys senior officers

NAF establishes new branch and commands, redeploys senior officers

- The Nigerian Air Force (NAF) is embarking on massive restructuring

- The move is aimed at enhancing the effective and efficient projection of NAF's air power

- Two new commands and a branch have been established, alongisde the deployment of some senior officers

The Nigerian Air Force has established two new commands namely Air Training Command (ATC) with Headquarters in Kaduna and Ground Training Command (GTC) with headquarters in Enugu.

These new commands were excised from the now defunct Training Command (TC) thereby bringing the total number of commands in the NAF to 6.

According to a statement by the NAF's director of public relations and information, Air Commodore Olatokunbo Adesanya, the ATC will be responsible for the implementation of policies on flying and air operations while the GTC will be responsible for the implementation of local ground training.

PAY ATTENTION: Read the best news on Nigeria’s #1 news app

The newly established branch is known as communications branch. The branch was unbundled from the former logistics and communications branch which brings the number of NAF branches to 10.

The new branch would handle all the needs of the NAF, with regards to communications, electronics, radar maintenance, Information and Space Technology.

Sequel to this development, the NAF has redeployed a total of 58 officers comprising 25 Air Vice Marshals (AVM), 20 Air Commodores, 5 Group Captains, one Wing Commander, 4 Squadron Leaders, 2 Flight Lieutenants and one Flying Officer.

Among those posted to Defence Headquarters are AVMs Wakili Ahmed, Defence Policy and Plans; Ibrahim Umaru, Director Safety and Manual; Benjamin Nweze, Director, Civil-Military Relations; Eche Agwungwu, Director Space; Bernard Chiobi, Director of Operations and Onyemaechi Osahor, Director General Defence Research Production Bureau.

Senior officers posted within HQ NAF include AVMs Nurudeen Balogun who is now Chief of Training and Operations; Muhammadu Muhammed, Chief of Policy and Plans; Charles Otegbade, Director of Plans; Olusoji Awomodu, Director of Museum and Archives; Sani Ahmed, Director of Policy; Muhammad Abdul-Wahab, Air Secretary; Kingsley Lar, Chief of Standards and Evaluation; Napoleon Bali, Director of Training; Christian Dii, Managing Director Aircraft Engineering and Technical Services Limited; Abdulganiyu Olabisi, Chief of Aircraft Engineering; Charles Oghomwen, Chief of Communications, Cletus Udeagulu, Director Research and Development and Paul Dimfwina, Director of Evaluation.

Similarly, the newly appointed Air Officers Commanding are AVMs Samson Akpasa, Ground Training Command, Enugu; Saddiq Kaita, Special Operations Command, Bauchi; and Mohammed Idris, Tactical Air Command, Makurdi.

Meanwhile, the Chief of the Air Staff, Air Marshal Sadique Abubakar, commissioned a liquid oxygen plant at the Nigerian Air Force Base, Yola on Monday, July 10.

According to the information provided, the commissioned plant has the capacity to produce 1000 litres of liquid oxygen every 8 hours, more than required for NAF operations.

READ ALSO: The economy has gotten better - Rotimi Amaechi

Watch the TV video report of the 10 young officer recently winged below:


Related news
I want to help PDP change the change - Gbenga Daniel reveals his plans

I want to help PDP change the change - Gbenga Daniel reveals his plans

I want to help PDP change the change - Gbenga Daniel reveals his plans
Mailfire view pixel