D.A.M.E. Calls for Entries in 30 Categories

D.A.M.E. Calls for Entries in 30 Categories

Trustees of the Diamond Awards for Media Excellence (D.A.M.E.) have invited entries in 30 categories for this year’s edition of the awards. It is the 21st edition of the annual event established to reward talent, enterprise and fidelity to ethics in the media. According to a statement by Abosede Olaniyan from D.A.M.E Secretariat, the categories span Print Journalism, which leads the pack with 18, Broadcast and Advertising, which have six categories each.

They include: Newspaper of the Year, Editor of the Year, Editorial Cartooning, Editorial Writing, Television Documentary, Television Drama, Radio Dra-ma and Radio Presenting, and Informed Commentary.

There are also prizes for Television, Radio, and Press Advertising in the sub-categories of consumer goods and services. Entries are also invited in such specialized beats in Print Journalism as sports, politics, the capital market, agriculture, development, and health. Three special prizes for investigative reportorial work will go those adjudged as Reporters of the Year in Print Journalism, Radio and Television. Such en-tries must be in before July 21.

First held in 1992, D.A.M.E. is a private sector initiative that has been a frontrunner in the deliberate effort to enhance media professionalism. To date, D.A.M.E. has awarded 415 prizes to deserving individuals and institutions.

It is funded by individuals and organisations that believe a strong, free and responsible media is necessary for the media to play productively their role as agents of national development and custodians of public morality.


Source: Naija.ng

Related news
Without SARS criminals will cripple River state - APC warns

Without SARS criminals will cripple River state - APC warns

PDP wants SARS scrapped because of 2019 election - Rivers APC alleges
Mailfire view pixel