Jonathan Set Up Committee on Maritime Operations

Jonathan Set Up Committee on Maritime Operations

President Goodluck Jonathan has set up a 15-member committee to draw up a roadmap for effective maritime operations in the country.

Jonathan announced this, on Monday, at the end of a one-day Presidential Retreat on Maritime Security held at the Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa.

The committee is to examine all the issues raised at the retreat and proffer workable solutions in a sustainable ways with a timeline for execution.

The committee is chaired by the Minister of Transport, Senator Idris Umar, while a maritime lawyer, Olisa Agbokoba (SAN), will serve as the vice chairman.

Other members of the committee are the Director General of NIMASA, Patrick Akpobolokemi; the Senior Special Adviser to the President on Maritime, Leke Oyelese and the Managing Director of the Nigeria Maritime Authority, Omar Suleiman.

The Chairman of Indigenous Ship Owners Association of Nigeria, Isaac Jolapamo; the Chairperson, Seaport Terminal Operators Association of Nigeria, Vicky Harstrup and former a Managing Director of Zenith Bank Plc, Jim Ovia, are also members.

Also in the committee are the Comptroller-General of Customs, Dikko Umar and the Special Adviser to the President on Project Monitoring, who will represent the Minister of Finance, Dr Ngozi Okonjo-weala, on the committee

The Chief of Naval Staff, the Minister of Petroleum Resources, the Attorney-General of the Federation and the Secretary to the Government of the Federation will send a representative each as members of the committee.

The President said the secretariat of the committee would be provided by the Ministry of Transport.

Declaring the retreat closed, Jonathan reiterated the need for concerted efforts to end crude oil theft, illegal bunkering and the activities of illegal local refineries.


Related news
Jonathan congratulates Buhari at 75

Jonathan congratulates Buhari at 75

Jonathan congratulates Buhari at 75
Mailfire view pixel